Accredited Strata Managers

What does it mean if a strata manager has SCA accreditation?

Our strata managers are accredited with Strata Community Australia (SCA). SCA is the peak industry body that serves strata and community managers throughout Australia and New Zealand. SCA has more than 3,000 individual members.

National SCA accreditation was adopted to create security, trust, professionalism, and recognition to clients throughout Australia. It’s a constant in an environment where each state has differing requirements for strata agencies and their managers. Accreditation provides a way to identify strata managers who submit themselves to SCA’s code of ethics, undertake continuing professional development, and have different levels of sector experience.

It’s rare for a company to have all its managers accredited. Be careful not to assume that “credited” means the same as “accredited”. To be considered for accreditation you must first be a member of SCA. Strata Plus has always invested to enable each strata manager to be a member of SCA. It’s of benefit to you our client as it provides you with the assurance that we as a company, and as individual strata managers, are bound by a Code of Conduct.

Accreditation involves an application process for the first three levels and there is a fee per application. As soon as a manager achieves the next level’s requirements we reapply for them.

At the 2016 SCA NSW Convention our MD, David Ferguson was awarded Fellow status (Level 4) as a reflection of his direct efforts to improve the sector. He was instrumental in the creation of our national body as well as the national accreditation program.

In July 2021, after a national review, the requirements have changed to include a Federal Police check to be provided on the application and then every 3 years, and the titles for level 3 and 4 have changed. 

As of August 2023, we had 27 accredited individuals made up of

SCA Accreditation levels

Level 1 –  Accredited Strata Community Manager (ASCM)

Requirements – Minimum 1-year SCA membership & 2 years strata experience, and 4 modules of the Cert IV in Strata, and 12 CPD points over the 12 months prior to applying. 

Level 2 – Certified Strata Community Manager (CSCM)

Requirements – Minimum 2 years experience & SCA membership, and completion of Cert IV in Strata, and 24 CPD points over the 24 months prior to applying. 

Level 3 – Fellow Strata Community Manager (FSCM)

Requirements – Held level 2 prior to application. Licensed and SCA membership for a minimum of 5 years. Hold a qualification of Diploma or higher in an industry related discipline, or extensive record of volunteer service to the industry such as Board participation, committee involvement, dedication to training or mentoring.  

Level 4 – Honorary Fellow Strata Community Manager (HFSCM)

Requirements – Qualified for level 3 accreditation, already an Honorary or Life Member plus a minimum of 5 years of membership and extensive service to the sector. 

Further information on the accreditation can be found on the SCA website.


Step 1 of 2

  • Give us a compliment

  • Your suggestion


Step 1 of 2

  • Your complaint

Translate »